Friday, May 20, 2011

New Mexico

New Mexico was the 47th state to become part of the United States.  It was admitted on January 6th 1912.  Its state capital is Santa Fe but its largest city Albuqurque.  New Mexico is located between Texas and Arizona on the south part of the United States.  Some of its major industries are mining, oil, natural gas, and tourism.  Most people think that New Mexico is not part of the United States but it is.  Francisco, a Spanish explorer searching for gold, traveled the region that became New Mexico in 1540–1542.

No comments:

Post a Comment