Friday, April 29, 2011

Washington DC

Washington DC also referred to as The District of Columbia serves as our nations capital.  The White House, Supreme Court, and many other government buildings are located in Washington DC.  President George Washington chose this as future capital in 1791.   Washington, D.C. was founded on July 16, 1790.   Washington DC became USA's capital June 11, 1800.  John Adams was the first to live in Washington DC.  It is the 49th most populous state.  Its one major industry is government.  Although DC residents pay taxes to the federal government, they do not have a voting representative in Congress.

No comments:

Post a Comment